At the the death of Doctor Syn in 1794, Britain was once again at war with France. The war lasted until 1815, with a brief period of peace in 1802-1803. This pause, the Peace of Amiens, separated the French Revolutionary Wars from the Napoleonic Wars. With the threat of Napoleon invading our shores a series of fortifications called Martello Towers were built on the South Coast and also the East Coast. The 74 South Coast towers stretched from Folkestone in Kent to Seaford in Sussex and many still stand today.
Martello Tower No.24Martello Tower No.28Martello Tower No.25
Martello Towers No.17 - 21 in 1903
Martello Tower No.23 in the 1950's

CLICK LINK BELOW FOR MARTELLO TOWERS.CO.UK - An excellent and authorative source of information.

The South Coast Martello Tower Site

Return to Legacy Main Page

© 2009 - Harmony Design